MINUTES CALLED SPECIAL MEETING MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF HEALTH MAY 30, 2023

The Mississippi State Board of Health met via Zoom on Wednesday, May 30, 2023, in the Executive Conference Room, Osborne Building, Jackson, MS at 5 pm.

Members Present:

Thad Waites, MD, MACC, Hattiesburg, MS – Chairman J. Edward Hill, MD, FAAFP, Oxford, MS – Vice Chairman Elayne H. Anthony, PhD, Madison, MS James P. Chaney, MD, Amory, MS John D. Davis, IV, MD, Flowood, MS Elizabeth Edmiston, PT, Ocean Springs, MS Lee Ann Griffin, PharmD, Jackson, MS Lucius M. Lampton, MD, FAAFP, Magnolia, MS Robert J. Moody, Louisville, MS James L. Perry, Jackson, MS Wheeler Timothy Timbs, III, Indianola, MS

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Thad Waites, MD, MACC.

The stated reason for the Board Meeting was to discuss Regulations for the Hospital Sustainability Program - Title 15 MSDH, Part 3: Subchapter 5: Hospital Sustainability Program and Signatory Authority in the absence of the State Health Officer. For signatory purposes, the State Health Officer recommended appointing the Senior Deputy as the State Health Officer's designee for non-medical issues and appointing the Chief Medical Officer as the State Health Officer's designee for medical issues. Upon motion by Dr. Davis to approve the process and second by Dr. Lampton, the process was unanimously approved.

Upon motion by Lee Ann Griffin to approve the Consent Agenda, the Board unanimously approved the motion.

Upon motion by Dr. Lampton to consider going into Closed Session to consider Executive Session to discuss Pending Litigation and second by Lee Ann Griffin, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Upon motion by Dr. Lampton to close Executive Session and second by Beth Edmiston, the Board exited Executive Session at 6:00 pm.

Dr. Waites announced the Board discussed pending litigation. Motion in Civil Action No. 1:22cv233-HSO-BWR under Miss. Code Ann. § 25-41-7(4)(b).

Upon motion by Dr. Lampton to adjourn and second by Mr. Moody, the meeting was adjourned at 6:10 pm.

Thad Waites, MD, MACC	Daniel Edney, MD, FACP, FASAM
Chairman	State Health Officer