MINUTES MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF HEALTH JANUARY 11, 2006

The Mississippi State Board of Health met in regular session on Wednesday, January 11, 2006, in the Alton B. Cobb Auditorium of the Osborne Building, Jackson, MS at 10:00 am with the following members present:

District I	Ellen Williams, RN, Senatobia
District III	R. A. Foxworth, DC, Jackson
District III	Mary Kim Smith, RN, Vice Chairman, Brandon
District III	Randy H. Russell, MD, Jackson
District III	Cass Pennington, EdD, Indianola
District IV	Larry Calvert, Chairman, Gulfport
State-at-Large	Alfred E. McNair, Jr., MD, Ocean Springs

Members Absent:

District I	Ruth Greer, RN, Holly Springs
District II	Walter C. Gough, MD, Drew
District II	Debra Griffin, Belzoni
District IV	Norman Price, McComb
District V	Ted Cain, Diamondhead
State-at-Large	H. Allen Gersh, MD, Hattiesburg

The meeting was called to order by the Chairman, Mr. Calvert.

The meeting was opened with prayer led by Dr. Russell and the Pledge of Allegiance led by Ms. Smith.

The first item of business was approval of the October 12, 2005 Board minutes. Upon motion by Dr. McNair and second by Dr. Russell, the Board unanimously approved the minutes of the October 12, 2005 Board meeting.

Brian W. Amy, MD, MHA, MPH presented the State Health Officer's Report. Upon motion by Dr. Foxworth and second by Dr. McNair, the Board unanimously voted for the Department to begin the Autism Registry.

Mr. Mitchell Adcock, Director, Office of Administration, presented the Financial and Administrative Report covering the period July 1, 2005 – November 30, 2005. Upon motion by Dr. Russell and second by Dr. McNair, the Board unanimously voted to recommend that any formal Department of Health structures be built to survive or able to survive a level 5 hurricane. Upon motion by Ms. Williams and second by Dr. McNair, the Board unanimously voted to accept the Financial and Administrative Report.

Ms. Pat Klar, Director, Office of Human Resources, presented the Personnel Report. Upon motion by Dr. Foxworth and second by Ms. Smith, the Board unanimously voted to accept the Personnel Report.

Mr. Jason Easley, Director, Office of Performance Accountability, presented the Internal Audit Report. Upon motion by Ms. Smith and second by Dr. McNair, the Board unanimously voted to accept the Internal Audit Report.

Mr. Sam Dawkins, Director, Office of Health Policy and Planning, presented the following:

1. Consideration of J-1 Visa Waiver Application. Georges Antoine Feghali, MD, Internal Medicine/Cardiologist, Lebanon, Southern MS Heart Center, PA, Harrison and Hancock Counties.

Upon motion by Dr. McNair and second by Dr. Pennington, the Board unanimously approved the above-named applicant.

2. Consideration of J-1 Visa Waiver Application. Kiandokht Partovi, MD, Internist, Canada, Transfer from Coahoma County to DePorres Delta Ministries, Inc., Quitman County.

Upon motion by Dr. Pennington and second by Ms. Smith, the Board unanimously approved the above-named applicant.

Mr. Jim Craig, Director, Office of Health Protection, presented the following items for the Board's consideration:

1. Reappointments to the Council of Advisors for Occupational Therapy.

Upon motion by Dr. Foxworth and second by Dr. Pennington, the Board unanimously voted to approve the reappointments of Heather Sudduth and Cheri Nipp to the above-named Council.

2. Appointments to Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Advisory Council.

Upon motion by Dr. Foxworth and second by Dr. McNair, the Board unanimously voted to approve the reappointment of Virginia Berry and appointment of Jacqueline O'Quinn to the above-named Council.

3. Appointments to Child Care Advisory Council.

Upon motion by Dr. McNair and second by Dr. Russell, the Board unanimously voted to approve the appointments of Julia Todd, Marjorie Nobles, Beverly Peden and Donna Traywick to the above-named Council.

4. Adoption of Proposed Mississippi Burn Care Regulations.

Upon motion by Dr. Foxworth and second by Dr. McNair, the Board unanimously voted to adopt the above regulations.

5. Proposed Revisions to the Regulations Governing Licensure Individual Onsite Wastewater Disposal, Administration Section.

Upon motion by Dr. Foxworth and second by Ms. Smith, the Board unanimously voted to adopt the above revisions.

6. Proposed Revisions to the Regulations Governing Licensure Individual Onsite Wastewater Disposal, Design Standard VI, Spray Irrigation Disposal System.

Upon motion by Dr. Foxworth and second by Dr. Russell, the Board unanimously voted to adopt the above revisions.

Upon motion by Dr. Foxworth and second by Ms. Smith, the Board unanimously voted that by next Board Meeting the Department staff let the Board know what authority the Board has to adopt rules and regulations requiring maintenance of these systems and its ability or inability to assess fines or penalties when those requirements are not met.

7. Drinking Water Systems Improvements and Emergency Revolving Loan Funds Elimination of Maximum Loan Amount Limits from State Law.

Upon motion by Dr. McNair and second by Dr. Foxworth, the Board unanimously voted to endorse this concept for legislative purposes.

Upon motion by Dr. Foxworth and second by Dr. McNair, the Board unanimously voted to adjourn at 12:20 pm.

Larry Calvert, R.Ph. Chairman Brian W. Amy, MD, MHA, MPH Secretary and Executive Officer