MINUTES MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF HEALTH JULY 12, 2006

The Mississippi State Board of Health met in regular session on Wednesday, July 12, 2006, in the Alton B. Cobb Auditorium of the Osborne Building, Jackson, MS at 10:00 am with the following members present:

District I	Ellen Williams, RN, Senatobia
District I	Kelly S. Segars, Sr., MD, Iuka
District II	Debra Griffin, Belzoni
District II	Cass Pennington, EdD, Indianola
District III	Sampat S. Shivangi, MD, Jackson
District III	Mary Kim Smith, RN, Chairman, Brandon
District III	Norman Price, McComb
District IV	Larry Calvert, RPh, Gulfport
District IV	Alfred E. McNair, Jr., MD, Vice Chairman, Ocean Springs
District IV	H. Allen Gersh, MD, Hattiesburg

Members Absent:

District I	Ruth Greer, RN, MS, Holly Springs
District III	Lucius M. Lampton, MD, Magnolia
(One Vacancy)	

The meeting was called to order by the Chairman Mary Kim Smith, RN.

The meeting was opened with prayer led by Ms. Griffin and the Pledge of Allegiance led by Dr. Gersh.

The first item of business was approval of the April 12, 2006 Board Minutes. Upon motion by Ms. Williams to accept the April 12, 2006 Board Minutes and second by Dr. McNair, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Tab 1

Brian W. Amy, MD, MHA, MPH - State Health Officer's Report

♣ Trauma Care System Update, Pandemic Flu Preparedness Update, Other Updates

Mr. Danny Miller, Deputy Director/Chief of Staff - Management Report

Agency Performance and Communication Committee Report - Upon motion by Dr. Pennington to accept the report of the Committee and second by Dr. McNair, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Tab 2

Mr. Mitchell Adcock, Director, Office of Administration - Administrative Report

Ms. Sharon Smiley, Chief Financial Officer - Financial Report

Ms. Pat Klar, Director, Office of Human Resources - Personnel Report

Upon motion by Dr. Gersh to accept the State Health Officer's Report along with Management, Administrative, Financial and Personnel Reports and second by Dr. McNair, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Tab 2

Mr. Jason Easley, Director, Office of Performance Accountability - Internal Audit Report

Upon motion by Ms. Williams to accept the Internal Audit Report and second by Dr. McNair, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Tab 3

Mr. Sam Dawkins, Director, Office of Health Policy and Planning

- 1. J-1 Visa Waiver Applications
 - ♣ Simon Rizk, MD, Cardiologist, Lebanon, The Heart Center, Jackson County.

Upon motion by Ms. Griffin to accept the J-1 Visa Waiver Application of Dr. Rizk and second by Dr. Shivangi, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Tab 4

♣ Samuel Olaleye, MD, Internal Medicine, Nigeria, Newton Regional Hospital, Newton County.

Upon motion by Dr. McNair to accept the J-1 Visa Waiver Application of Dr. Olaleye and second by Ms. Williams, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Tab 4

Sohail Ahmed, MD, Internal Medicine, Pakistan, Aaron Henry Community Health Services Center-Transfer Request from Humphreys County to Panola County.

Upon motion by Dr. McNair to accept the J-1 Visa Waiver Application of Dr. Ahmed and second by Dr. Shivangi, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Ms. Griffin and Dr. Gersh recused. Tab 4

♣ Venkataramana Garikiparthy, MD, Pediatrician, India, Family Health Center, Jones County.

Upon motion by Mr. Price to accept the J-1 Visa Waiver Application of Dr. Garikiparthy and second by Ms. Griffin, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Dr. Gersh recused. Tab 4

2. Proposed Revisions in Mississippi J-1 Visa Waiver Guidelines

Upon motion by Dr. McNair to accept Proposed Revisions in J-1 Visa Waiver Guidelines and second by Dr. Shivangi, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Tab 5

3. Proposed Revisions in Certificate of Need Review Manual

Upon motion by Mr. Price to accept Proposed Revisions in Certificate of Need Review Manual and second by Ms. Williams, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Tab 6

4. Mississippi Qualified Health Center Grants

Upon motion by Dr. McNair to recommend approval of allocations for FY 2007 MS Qualified Health Center Grants and second by Ms. Griffin, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Tab 7

5. Patient Origin Data Collection System

Upon motion by Ms. Griffin to endorse continuing support for development of the Patient Origin Data Collection System and second by Ms. Williams, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Tab 8

Mr. Jim Craig, Director, Office of Health Protection

- 1. Proposed Amendments to:
 - Minimum Standards of Operation for Ambulatory Surgical Facilities
 - Minimum Standards of Operation for Hospice
 - Regulations Governing Licensure of Child Care Facilities
 - Regulations Governing Licensure of Child Care Facilities for 12 or Fewer Children in the Operator's Home

Upon motion by Dr. McNair to approve Proposed Amendments for Ambulatory Surgical Facilities, Hospice, Child Care Facilities and Child Care Facilities for 12 or Fewer Children in the Operator's Home and second by Dr. Gersh, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Tab 9

- 2. Appointments/Reappointments to:
 - Louncil of Advisors for Respiratory Care Practitioners. Stanley R. Grantham, RRT, MS Society for Respiratory Care; Arthur L. Calimaran, MD, American Society of Anesthesiologists/Larry Conway, RRT, MS Society for Respiratory Care.

- ♣ Council of Advisors for Dietitians. Sandy Davis, RD, Community Nutrition; Vickie Mascagni, RD, Consultation and Private Practice; Esther Ann Coats, RD, Clinical Dietetics/V. Lynn Curtain, RD, Administration; Ruth Ann Broome, RD, Dietetic Education; Nicole Barrett, Public Member.
- ♣ Council of Advisors for Medical Radiation Technologists. Kerry J. Berthold, MD, MS Radiological Society; David B. Wheat, MD, Family Practice; Mike Ketchum, RT, MS Society of Radiologic Technologists; Paula Young, RT, MS Society of Radiologic Technologists; Charles Stokes, President NMMC, MS Hospital Association/Joyce Brewer, MSN, PhD, Staff; Andrew Fisher, RT, MS Society of Radiologic Technologists; Georgeine Conner, RT, MS Society of Radiologic Technologists; Ruth Helen Thigpen, MS Society of Radiologic Technologists; Ali Lavassani, PhD, MS Society of Radiologic Technologists.
- Like Child Care Advisory Council. Mildred Hampton, Indianola, Sunflower County, Provider; Cecilia Hope Weems, Carriere, Pearl River County, Provider; Cathryn McCray, Magnolia, Pike County, Professional Organization/Pamela T. Felder-Wright, PhD, Alcorn State University and Jan Cooper Taylor, PhD, MS State University.

Upon motion by Ms. Griffin to accept the Appointments/Reappointments to the Council of Advisors for Respiratory Care Practitioners, Council of Advisors for Dietitians, Council of Advisors for Medical Radiation Technologists and Child Care Advisory Council and second by Dr. McNair, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Tab 10

3. Proposed Changes to the Rules and Regulations Governing Reportable Diseases

Upon motion by Dr. McNair to accept Proposed Changes to the Rules and Regulations Governing Reportable Diseases and second by Ms. Griffin, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Tab 11

4. Proposed Revisions to Food Protection Regulations

Upon motion by Ms. Williams to accept the Proposed Changes to Food Protection Regulations and second by Dr. McNair, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Tab 12

5. Proposed Fiscal Year 2007 Water Quality Analysis Fee Schedule

Upon motion by Ms. Griffin to adopt the Proposed Fiscal Year 2007 Water Quality Analysis Fee Schedule and second by Drs. McNair and Shivangi, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Tab 13

Upon motion to adjourn by Dr. Mounanimously to adjourn at 1:30 pm.	eNair and	second	by	Ms.	Williams,	the	Board	voted
Mary Kim Smith, RN Chairman				•	ID, MHA, Mecutive Offi			