MINUTES MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF HEALTH SPECIAL BOARD MEETING SEPTEMBER 25, 2006

The Mississippi State Board of Health met on Monday, September 25, 2006, in the Alton B. Cobb Auditorium of the Osborne Building, Jackson, MS at 10:30 am with the following members present:

District I	Ruth Greer, RN, MS, Holly Springs
District I	Kelly S. Segars, Sr., MD, Iuka
District I	J. Edward Hill, MD, Tupelo
District II	Debra Griffin, Belzoni
District III	Sampat S. Shivangi, MD, Jackson
District III	Mary Kim Smith, RN, Chairman, Brandon
District IV	Larry Calvert, RPh, Gulfport
District IV	Alfred E. McNair, Jr., MD, Vice Chairman, Ocean Springs

Members Absent:

District I	Ellen Williams, RN, Senatobia
District II	Cass Pennington, EdD, Indianola
District III	Norman Price, McComb
District III	Lucius M. Lampton, MD, Magnolia
District IV	H. Allen Gersh, MD, Hattiesburg

The meeting was called to order by the Chairman Mary Kim Smith, RN.

The meeting was opened with prayer led by Ms. Griffin and the Pledge of Allegiance led by Ruth Greer.

Brian W. Amy, MD, MHA, MPH - State Health Officer's Report

Legislative Budget Presentation: Pandemic Flu, Trauma Care System, MDH Program Priorities

Upon motion by Dr. McNair to accept the State Health Officer's Report and second by Ms. Greer, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Tab 1

Mary Kim Smith, RN, Chairman – Committees Structure

- ♣ Policy Committee will deal with policy and regulations. This Committee will be chaired by Debra Griffin.
- ♣ Preparedness Committee will deal with Pandemic Flu, preparedness for disasters, obesity, hypertension, etc. This Committee will be chaired by Ellen Williams.

♣ Executive Committee will look at Bylaws, State Health Plan, etc. This Committee will consist of present Chairman; present Vice Chairman, immediate past Chairman, Chairman of Policy Committee, Chairman of Preparedness Committee and representative from newly appointed Members of the Board.

Upon motion by Dr. McNair to approve the Committees Structure and second by Ms. Griffin, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Tab 2

Mr. Sam Dawkins, Director, Office of Health Policy and Planning

- ↓ Legislatively Mandated Study of CON Issues (House Bill 1221, 2006 Regular Session)
 Update
- **CON Fees Update**
- ♣ State Health Plan Update

Upon motion to adjourn by Dr. McNair and second by Dr. Shivangi, the Board voted unanimously to adjourn at 12:07 pm.

Mary Kim Smith, RN	Brian W. Amy, MD, MHA, MPH
Chairman	Secretary and Executive Officer