## MINUTES MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF HEALTH DECEMBER 5, 2007

The Mississippi State Board of Health met on Wednesday, December 5, 2007, in the Alton B. Cobb Auditorium of the Osborne Building, Jackson, MS at 9:00 am.

## Members Present:

Elayne H. Anthony, PhD, Madison, MS Geraldine B. Chaney, MD, FAAP, Jackson, MS Albert Randel Hendrix, PhD, Ovett, MS J. Edward Hill, MD, FAAFP, Tupelo, MS Lucius M. Lampton, MD, FAAFP, Magnolia, MS - Chairman Carl L. Nicholson, Jr., CPA, Hattiesburg, MS Sammie Ruth Rea, RN, Brandon, MS Ronald W. Robertson, Sr., Greenwood, MS Kelly S. Segars, Sr., MD, FAAFP, Iuka, MS

Members Absent:

Alfred E. McNair, Jr., MD, Ocean Springs, MS - Vice Chairman Ellen P. Williams, RN, MSN, Senatobia, MS

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Luke Lampton, MD.

Upon motion by Dr. Anthony to go into Executive Session to consider the selection of a permanent State Health Officer and second by Dr. Chaney, the Board unanimously approved the motion.

The Board entered Executive Session at 9:10 am.

Upon motion by Dr. Hendrix to make Dr. Ed Thompson permanent State Health Officer and second by Dr. Segars, the Board unanimously approved the motion.

Upon motion by Dr. Segars to approve a salary of \$230,000.00 for Dr. Thompson and second by Dr. Hill, the Board unanimously approved the motion.

Upon motion by Dr. Segars to exit the Executive Session and second by Dr. Chaney, the Board unanimously approved the motion. The Board exited Executive Session at 12:25 pm.

Upon motion by Dr. Hill to approve what was done in Executive Session and second by Dr. Chaney, the Board unanimously approved the motion.

Upon motion by Dr. Hill to adjourn and second by Dr. Anthony, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Meeting concluded at 12:30 pm.

Lucius M. Lampton, MD, FAAFP Chairman F. E. Thompson, Jr., MD, MPH State Health Officer