MINUTES MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF HEALTH JANUARY 8, 2014

The Mississippi State Board of Health met on Wednesday, January 8, 2014, in the Alton B. Cobb Auditorium of the Osborne Building, Jackson, MS at 10:00 am.

Members Present:

Lucius M. Lampton, MD, FAAFP, Magnolia, MS – Chairman J. Edward Hill, MD, FAAFP, Tupelo, MS – Vice Chairman Elizabeth Aldridge, Madison, MS Elayne H. Anthony, PhD, Madison, MS Ed D. Barham, MD, FACR, Clinton, MS Sammie Ruth Rea, RN, Brandon, MS Thad Waites, MD, Hattiesburg, MS

Members Absent:

Ronald W. Robertson, Sr., Greenwood, MS Kelly S. Segars, Sr., MD, FAAFP, Iuka, MS

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Luke Lampton, MD.

Mary Currier, MD, MPH, State Health Officer, at home with the flu, participated by telephone and did not present the State Health Officer's Report.

Because the Board did not have a quorum and business could not be conducted, Mike Lucius, Chief Administrative Officer, presented the Budget Update.

Quorum attained. The first item of business was the approval of the October 9, 2013 Board Minutes. Upon motion by Dr. Anthony and second by Mrs. Aldridge to accept aforementioned minutes, the Board unanimously approved the motion.

Consent Agenda Items:

- Item 1 Reappointments to the Council of Advisors for Occupational Therapy
- Item 2 Appointments/Reappointment to the Council of Advisors for Professional Art Therapy
- Item 3 Appointments to the Council of Advisors for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
- Item 4 Appointment/Reappointment to the Mississippi Radiation Advisory Council

Upon motion by Dr. Anthony and second by Mrs. Aldridge to approve the Consent Agenda, the Board unanimously approved the motion.

Regular Agenda Items:

Item 5 Final Adoption of Rules and Regulations Governing Reportable Diseases and Conditions

Upon motion by Dr. Hill and second by Mrs. Aldridge to approve, the Board unanimously approved the motion.

Item 6 Final Adoption of Three Additional Substances to the Mississippi Uniform Controlled Substances Law

Upon motion by Mrs. Aldridge and second by Mrs. Rea to approve, the Board unanimously approved the motion.

Item 7 Mississippi Youth Concussion Law presented by Lee Jenkins, Brain Injury Association of Mississippi

Upon motion by Mrs. Rea to endorse this bill and extend it to the youth leagues of the State and second by Dr. Anthony, the Board unanimously voted to approve said motion.

Upon motion by Dr. Anthony and second by Mrs. Aldridge to go into Executive Session for a litigation update, the Board unanimously voted to go into Executive Session at 10:58 am. Upon motion by Dr. Anthony and second by Mrs. Aldridge, the Board unanimously voted to exit Executive Session and return to Open Session at 11:38 pm. Dr. Lampton announced in Open Session that no action had been taken by the Board in Executive Session.

Upon motion by Dr. Anthony to adjourn and second by Mrs. Aldridge, the Board unanimously voted to adjourn at 11:40 pm.

Lucius M. Lampton, MD, FAAFP

Chairman

Mary Currier, MD, MPH

State Health Officer