MINUTES MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF HEALTH APRIL 8, 2015

The Mississippi State Board of Health met on Wednesday, April 8, 2015, in the Alton B. Cobb Auditorium of the Osborne Building, Jackson, MS at 1:00 pm.

Members Present:

Lucius M. Lampton, MD, FAAFP, Magnolia, MS – Chairman J. Edward Hill, MD, FAAFP, Tupelo, MS – Vice Chairman Elayne H. Anthony, PhD, Madison, MS Ed D. Barham, MD, FACR, Clinton, MS Sammie Ruth Rea, RN, Brandon, MS Wheeler Timothy Timbs, III, Indianola, MS Thad Waites, MD, Hattiesburg, MS

Members Absent:

Edward J. Langton, Hattiesburg, MS Robert J. Moody, Louisville, MS

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Luke Lampton, MD.

The first item of business was the approval of the January 14, 2015 Board Minutes. Upon motion by Mr. Timbs and second by Dr. Anthony to accept aforementioned minutes, the Board unanimously approved the motion.

Mary Currier, MD, MPH, State Health Officer, presented the State Health Officer's Report.

Mitchell Adcock, CPA, Chief Administrative Officer, presented the Financial Update.

Stephanie M. Brown, MBA, Legislative Liaison, presented the Legislative Update.

Consent Agenda Items:

- 1. Setting of the Passing Score for the National Examinations in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
- 2. Reappointment to the Mississippi Professional Art Therapists Advisory Council

Upon motion by Dr. Anthony to approve the Consent Agenda and second by Dr. Waites, the Board unanimously approved the motion.

Regular Agenda Item:

3. Final Adoption – Mississippi State Rural Health Plan

Upon motion by Mr. Timbs to approve the Mississippi State Rural Health Plan with the amendments to change "manpower" to "workforce" and second by Dr. Anthony, the Board unanimously approved the motion.

Upon motion by Mrs. Rea to go into Executive Session to update the Board on litigation and second by Dr. Anthony, the Board unanimously approved the motion. The Board entered Executive Session at 1:50 pm.

Upon motion by Mr. Timbs to exit Executive Session and second by Dr. Anthony, the Board unanimously approved the motion. The Board exited Executive Session at 2:35 pm.

Dr. Lampton announced that no action and no vote were taken in Executive Session.

Upon motion by Dr. Anthony to retain Dr. Luke Lampton as Chairman and Dr. Edward Hill as Vice-Chairman and second by Mr. Timbs, the Board unanimously approved the motion.

Upon motion by Mr. Timbs to adjourn and second by Dr. Anthony, the Board unanimously voted to adjourn at 2:38 pm.

Lucius M. Lampton, MD, FAAFP
Chairman

Mary Currier, MD, MPH
State Health Officer