MINUTES MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF HEALTH JULY 8, 2015

The Mississippi State Board of Health met on Wednesday, July 8, 2015, in the Alton B. Cobb Auditorium of the Osborne Building, Jackson, MS at 10:00 am.

Members Present:

Lucius M. Lampton, MD, FAAFP, Magnolia, MS – Chairman J. Edward Hill, MD, FAAFP, Tupelo, MS – Vice Chairman Elayne H. Anthony, PhD, Madison, MS Ed D. Barham, MD, FACR, Clinton, MS Edward J. Langton, Hattiesburg, MS Robert J. Moody, Louisville, MS Betty Jane Phillips, DrPH, Brandon, MS Sammie Ruth Rea, RN, Brandon, MS Dwalia Sherree South, MD, Ripley, MS Wheeler Timothy Timbs, III, Indianola, MS Thad Waites, MD, Hattiesburg, MS

Members Absent:

None

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Luke Lampton, MD.

The first item of business was the swearing in of two newly appointed Board Members, Betty Jane Phillips, DrPH and Dwalia Sherree South, MD, and three reappointed Board Members, J. Edward Hill, MD, Sammie Ruth Rea, RN and Thad Waites, MD. They were sworn in by Linda Wilson, Court Reporter.

The first item on the Agenda was the approval of the April 8, 2015 Board Minutes. Upon motion by Mr. Timbs and second by Dr. Anthony to accept aforementioned minutes, the Board unanimously approved the motion.

Mary Currier, MD, MPH, State Health Officer, recognized Mike Holcombe for receiving the Charles DeGraw Advocacy Award.

Dr. Currier introduced Scott Clements from the Department of Education and Therese Hanna from the Center for Mississippi Health Policy to speak about the Healthy Students Act and what is going on in schools in Mississippi around health education, physical activity and nutrition so that the Board can be more educated about what is going on for the purposes of improved health in Mississippi.

Mitchell Adcock, CPA, Chief Administrative Officer, presented the Financial Update.

Consent Agenda Items:

- 1. Appointments to the Wastewater Advisory Council
- 2. Appointment to the Council of Advisors for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
- 3. Final Adoption of Minimum Standards of Operation for Home Health Agencies
- 4. Final Adoption of Regulations Governing the Registration of Medical Radiation Technologists

Upon motion by Mr. Moody to approve the Consent Agenda and second by Dr. Anthony, the Board unanimously approved the motion.

Regular Agenda Items:

5. Recommendation of the Mississippi Qualified Health Center Advisory Council for FY 2016 Grant Awards to Mississippi Qualified Health Centers

Upon motion by Dr. Phillips to approve the recommendations of the Advisory Council and second by Mr. Langton, the Board unanimously approved the motion.

6. Rules and Regulations Governing Reportable Diseases and Conditions

Upon motion by Dr. Barham to make the changes to the reportable conditions and second by Mrs. Rea, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Upon motion by Dr. South to approve CRE to be added to the Class 3 reportable diseases and second by Mr. Langton and Dr. Anthony, the Board unanimously approved the motion.

7. Board's Support for PHAB Accreditation

Dr. Currier asked for the Board's approval to send the Statement of Intent to the Public Health Accreditation Board. Upon motion by Dr. Anthony and second by Mr. Langton, the Board unanimously approved the motion.

Dr. Lampton mentioned to the Board the loss of Ronnie Robertson, previous Board Member, and that he would like to prepare and present at the next Board Meeting a Resolution of Respect for their approval. They unanimously agreed.

Dr. Lampton welcomed Governor Phil Bryant to the meeting. Dr. Currier presented some of the accomplishments of the Mississippi State Department of Health for 2014. Governor Bryant made a few remarks.

Upon motion by Dr. Anthony to adjourn and second by Dr. Waites, the Board unanimously voted to adjourn at 12:05 pm.

Lucius M. Lampton, MD, FAAFP Chairman Mary Currier, MD, MPH State Health Officer