MINUTES MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF HEALTH JANUARY 13, 2016

The Mississippi State Board of Health met on Wednesday, January 13, 2016, in the Alton B. Cobb Auditorium of the Osborne Building, Jackson, MS at 10:00 am.

Members Present:

Lucius M. Lampton, MD, FAAFP, Magnolia, MS – Chairman J. Edward Hill, MD, FAAFP, Tupelo, MS – Vice Chairman Elayne H. Anthony, PhD, Madison, MS Ed D. Barham, MD, FACR, Clinton, MS Edward J. Langton, Hattiesburg, MS Betty Jane Phillips, DrPH, Brandon, MS Sammie Ruth Rea, RN, Brandon, MS Dwalia Sherree South, MD, Ripley, MS Wheeler Timothy Timbs, III, Indianola, MS

Members Absent:

Robert J. Moody, Louisville, MS Thad Waites, MD, Hattiesburg, MS

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Luke Lampton, MD.

Dr. Lampton introduced Dr. Daniel Edney, President of the Mississippi State Medical Association (MSMA), who presented Dr. Currier with the Nathan Davis Award. This Award is the highest commendation that the American Medical Association gives to career public servants. Dr. Currier was nominated by MSMA and will personally receive this Award on February 23, 2016.

The first item on the Agenda was the approval of the October 14, 2015 Board Minutes. Upon motion by Dr. Anthony and second by Dr. Barham to accept aforementioned Minutes, the Board unanimously approved the motion. **Tab 1**

Mary Currier, MD, MPH, State Health Officer, introduced Peter Marks, President of Maris, West & Baker. He presented Liz Sharlot, Director of Communications, and Dr. Nick Mosca, Director of STD/HIV, the Overall Best Wellness Campaign in 2015 Award from the Ragan Communications Healthcare and PR Marketing Awards for MSDH's HIV Campaign "Know It".

Dr. Currier presented the State Health Officer's Report.

Mitchell Adcock, CPA, Chief Administrative Officer, presented the Financial Update.

Natalie Mahaffey, Director, Policy Evaluation and Government Relations, presented the Legislative Update.

Consent Agenda Items:

- 1. Reappointment to the Mississippi Professional Art Therapists Advisory Council
- 2. Reappointments to the Council of Advisors for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
- 3. Reappointment to the Radiation Advisory Council
- 4. Proposed Amendments to the Minimum Standards of Operation for Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Centers (PPECs)
- 5. Final Adoption. Mississippi Primary Drinking Water Regulations

Mr. Timbs moved to approve the Consent Agenda, and Dr. Anthony seconded the motion. Upon motion, Dr. Hill stated that on Item 4, Page 4, under "Licensing Agencies" where it says "medical director shall mean a physician licensed to practice in the State of Mississippi certified by the American Academy of Pediatrics", the American Academy of Pediatrics do not certify. It should be the American Board of Pediatrics. With that correction noted, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Tab 2

Regular Agenda Item:

6. Final Adoption. Revision of FY 2015 Mississippi State Health Plan

Upon motion by Dr. Phillips to approve the revision of the Mississippi State Health Plan and second by Dr. Anthony, the Board unanimously approved the motion. Tab 3

Upon motion to consider going into Executive Session by Mr. Timbs and second by Dr. Phillips, the Board voted unanimously to consider going into Executive Session.

Upon motion by Dr. Anthony to go into Executive Session to discuss personnel matters and second by Mr. Timbs, the Board voted unanimously to enter Executive Session at 11:07 am.

Upon motion to exit Executive Session by Mr. Timbs and second by Dr. Anthony, the Board voted unanimously to exit at 11:53 am. Dr. Lampton announced no action was taken. Tab 4

Upon motion by Mr. Timbs to adjourn and second by Dr. Anthony, the Board unanimously voted to adjourn at 11:55 am.

Lucius M. Lampton, MD, FAAFP Mary Currier, MD, MPH State Health Officer

Chairman