## MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF HEALTH MAY 24, 2017

A Special Meeting of the Mississippi State Board of Health was held on Wednesday, May 24, 2017, in the Small Conference Room on the Fourth Floor of the Osborne Building, Jackson, MS at 5:00 pm.

Members Participating in Person:

Lucius M. Lampton, MD, FAAFP, Magnolia, MS – Chairman Ed D. Barham, MD, FACR, Clinton, MS Edward J. Langton, Hattiesburg, MS Sammie Ruth Rea, RN, Brandon, MS

Members Participating Via Telephone:

J. Edward Hill, MD, FAAFP, Tupelo, MS – Vice Chairman Elayne H. Anthony, PhD, Madison, MS Robert J. Moody, Louisville, MS Betty Jane Phillips, DrPH, Brandon, MS Dwalia Sherree South, MD, Ripley, MS Wheeler Timothy Timbs, III, Indianola, MS Thad Waites, MD, Hattiesburg, MS

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Luke Lampton, MD.

Roll Call was taken of Board Members. All Members of the Board were present.

Thad Waites, MD, Chairman of the Ad Hoc Election Committee moved to create an Ad Hoc Nominating Committee for the purpose of electing Chairman and Vice Chairman and was seconded by Dr. Anthony. In favor of the motion were Dr. Lampton, Dr. Hill, Dr. Anthony, Mr. Langton, Mr. Moody, Dr. Phillips, Mrs. Rea, Dr. South, Mr. Timbs and Dr. Waites. Dr. Barham abstained. Mr. Moody moved that Mr. Langton serve as Chairman of the Nominating Committee and was seconded by Dr. Waites. Dr. Anthony moved that all non physician Members of the Board of Health serve on the Nominating Committee and was seconded by Dr. Phillips. Said Committee will consist of Dr. Anthony, Mr. Langton, Mr. Moody, Dr. Phillips, Mrs. Rea and Mr. Timbs. Those in favor of the motion were Dr. Lampton, Dr. Hill, Dr. Anthony, Dr. Barham, Mr. Langton, Mr. Moody, Dr. Phillips, Mrs. Rea, Dr. South, Mr. Timbs and Dr. Waites.

Dr. Anthony moved to adjourn and was seconded by Dr. were Dr. Lampton, Dr. Hill, Dr. Anthony, Dr. Barham,	Mr. Langton, Mr. Moody, Dr. Phillips,
Mrs. Rea, Dr. South, Mr. Timbs and Dr. Waites. The med	eung adjourned at 5:43 pm.
Lucius M. Lampton, MD, FAAFP Chairman	Mary Currier, MD, MPH State Health Officer